Monday, August 8, 2016

My Thoughts on Suicide Squad

First of all, a little disclaimer, I do not obsessed over superheroes.  I just like good movie.

So, I just watched suicide squad this last friday. The promotion for the movie was really big, I can't help but wanting to see it myself. First of all, the trailers are good. Damn good song they got there. And I was really intrigued by Jared Leto's Joker. Although, to be completely honest, I never really watch any other Joker since I never really like Batman (or Superman, or Iron man to be fair) and the only way to see Joker is to watch Batman's movie, so I don't really have any other Joker to compare it with.

About the movie
Let me be honest with you, I don't really have any expectation watching this movie. Cause I didn't follow either marvell or DC universe. So I don't know what to expect from this movie. I just went as a blank canvas, ready to accept whatever they give to me. It was a good movie. But that's it. There is no... this one "thing" that pulled me towards raving about it. It's just like any other movie I watched to passed time. I think the action are good, but there's just too much backstory thrown it it, that it sorta pushing the actions to the side. Do you really need that much backstory for one movie? I mean, one story for every character? I know some people may not have any trouble with this, but I feel like every character may need their own movie first, before they started making suicide squad story, rather than giving us patchy backstory every here and there. The story line seems  a little bit rushed, maybe because they took their sweet time making story for each person. Minutes that could be spent to deepen the plot. There are some jokes thrown every here and there to lighten up the mood (I think it works, for most of the time), but overall, this is just an okay movie.

About the character
I think character that leaves the most impression is Margot Robbie's Harley Quinn. Cause I didn't know about Harley before, I tried to watch a couple of her clips, mostly from the animated series. And Margot Robbie plays it beautifully. From the way she talks to the way she acts, she feels just like the Harley I researched. Now, to the controversies of her relationship with the Joker. Some people said that he's abusive of her and what of it. But to me, they are just two halves of a crazy. Both are just as crazy as the other one. I watched how Joker treated her on the animated series, and I think this Joker are nothing like that. I think Joker loves her in his own way. I mean, she willingly jump into the acid for him, and he could have leave her be, yet he still saved her anyway. And remember the "I'd do anything for you?". He didn't  need to try and save her from the squad, yet he meticulously tried to make sure that he actually save her, instead of killing her (with the neck bomb) in the act of saving her. I mean, you know what they said, people loves another in their own twisted way.

But guys, remember, this is fiction. if any of the story, or relationship happening in the movie actually happen to you, you need to seek help! In this reality, you shouldn't glorified anything happening in the movie, let alone experienced it on real life. This is not some kind of documentary, this is fiction. it's not meant to happen in real life. 

No comments:

Post a Comment